top of page

Books Similar to A Court of Thorns and Roses

2

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

1

0

Synopsis of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas


Throne of Glass welcomes us to a world where magic is gone and the king rules with an iron fist. An assassin named Celaena Sardothien gets pulled from her prison cell and offered a deal. She has to win a deadly competition against 23 other killers, thieves, and warriors. Doing so will earn her freedom.


But freedom isn't the only thing at stake here. There's something sinister lurking in the castle, picking off the competitors one by one. Celaena's not just fighting for her freedom- she's fighting for her life. And to survive, she'll have to uncover the dark secret behind the killings before it becomes her turn to bite the dust.


A Brief Review of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas


Okay, I'll be real, this book started off slow. Like, really slow. And it wasn't at all what I expected. But don't throw things at me just yet! I'm still on board, Sarah J. Maas hasn't lost me as a fan.


When I read the blurb, I pictured a Hunger Games-style fight to the death. I was wrong. For the first chunk of the book, it was mostly:


"OMG, this dress is SO gorgeous! I'm an assassin, but I also love fashion!"


"I'm hot and I know it, but I'll keep playing these guys against each other because why not?"


Blah blah blah, a tiny mention of the competition, but no actual action. Blah blah blah.


BUT THEN!


Things picked up. I was hooked! It reminded me of how I felt reading A Court of Thorns and Roses, where I was bored until we got to the good stuff. So, I'm definitely continuing the series because now I'm invested. 


I know Maas wrote this when she was younger, but did anyone else think it felt more immature compared to ACOTAR, at least in the beginning? Just me?

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Twisted Curse

A kid abused by his dad became a vengeful spirit. This kid is desperate for love and acceptance, and he'll do anything to get it. Ignore him, and you're dead. Welcome him in, and he'll latch onto you like a leech, eliminating anyone who threatens his claim on your affection. It's a lose-lose situation, a twisted game with no escape.

22

100 Tales of Horror

Raw. Visceral. Unforgettable. 100 Tales of Horror doesn't just scare you—it gets under your skin. From whispers in the dark to screams that shatter reality, these stories will haunt your waking hours and invade your dreams. 100 doses of pure, distilled fear. No filler. No mercy. Are you ready? Read Soju's 100 Tales of Horror english version here in Toodat Fiction!

213

bottom of page