top of page

Books Similar to A Little Life

3

The Hearts Invisible Furies by John Boyne

1

0

Synopsis of The Hearts Invisible Furies by John Boyne


What if you are being told your whole life that you're not a "real" member of your own family? That's Cyril Avery's reality. Adopted by a wealthy but quirky couple in Dublin, Cyril always felt like an outsider, never quite belonging. 


Who is he, if not an Avery?


Cyril's journey starts with a teenage pregnancy and a scandal that gets his birth mother kicked out of her small Irish town. He grows up feeling lost, finding solace only in his friendship with Julian Woodbead.


Life takes Cyril on a ride of chance and circumstance, as he tries to figure out who he really is and where he fits in. Throughout his life, he searches for an identity, a place to call home, and a sense of belonging in a country that's constantly changing.


The Heart's Invisible Furies is a sweeping tale that takes us from the 1940s to the present day, all seen through the eyes of this one ordinary guy. 


A Brief Review of The Hearts Invisible Furies by John Boyne


Honestly, I was a little hesitant to start this book, because it's a bit of a hefty read. But, I'm so glad I did! This book is easily one of my all-time favorites.


The Heart's Invisible Furies follows the life of Cyril Avery, who struggles with finding his identity and belonging in his home country. The book ends up being this incredible journey of self-discovery and acceptance.


I was so sad when it ended! Even though it took me a little longer to read than usual, I cherished every single page. Cyril's life felt so real and relatable that I looked forward to picking it up every day. The author is just amazing at creating characters who feel like real people, with all their quirks and flaws.


Be warned, though, this book deals with some heavy stuff, so be prepared if you're sensitive to certain topics. At first, I was joking about what awful thing could happen next, and I was actually kind of right! But as I kept reading, I appreciated how Boyne wasn't afraid to show the harsh realities of life. There was this one moment that was so raw and emotional that I literally had to put the book down for a bit. 

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Best Romance Manhwa

Get an insight on the best romance Manhwa with this curated collection. This guide features beloved titles that offers readers a perfect blend of stunning artwork and heart-fluttering narratives. Whether you're a seasoned manhwa enthusiast or new to the genre, this collection is your gateway to love stories that will leave you breathless.

21

Best Cultivation Manhwa

Immerse yourself in the captivating world of cultivation, where ordinary individuals rise to extraordinary heights through training, determination, and the mastery of mystical arts. This collection brings together the best cultivation manhwa that have defined the genre. We made sure to offer a diverse array of stories that will keep you enthralled.

14

bottom of page