top of page

Books Similar to A Little Life

7

On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong

1

0

Synopsis of On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong


A son writing a letter to his mom, knowing she'll never be able to read it serves as the heart of On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous. This book isn't just a letter, it's a journey back in time, digging up a family history that started long before Little Dog, the son, was even born. It all leads to a secret he's never told his mom, a secret that'll change everything.


This book takes a raw, unflinching look at what it means to be a Vietnamese immigrant in America. It's about race, class, masculinity. It's a story about addiction, violence, and trauma, but also about love, compassion, and the desperate need to be heard.


Ocean Vuong writes with a kind of poetic urgency that'll grab you from the first page. He paints a picture of people caught between two worlds, struggling to heal and find their place without losing themselves. This book will make you think about how we survive, how we find joy even in the darkest of times.


A Brief Review of On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong


A literary feast, full of poetic language and a heartbreaking story that left me completely speechless.


It's a letter from a Vietnamese immigrant to his mother, who can't read. It's filled with things they've never said to each other, and it's about a young man trying to find himself in a new country. The book talks about his first love, drug addiction, his troubled relationship with his mother and grandmother, being bullied, and the abuse his mom suffered. 


This isn't a light, feel-good read. It's raw, it's real, and it doesn't shy away from tough topics like explicit sex and heavy stuff. So even though it's beautifully written and I couldn't put it down, it's definitely not for everyone. This is a book for those who can handle something strong, like straight bourbon or a dark roast coffee without sugar or cream.


I'll be honest, some parts were tough to read. But the author's talent is undeniable. He creates magic with words, and I was deeply impressed by his skill. 

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Best Romance Manhwa

Get an insight on the best romance Manhwa with this curated collection. This guide features beloved titles that offers readers a perfect blend of stunning artwork and heart-fluttering narratives. Whether you're a seasoned manhwa enthusiast or new to the genre, this collection is your gateway to love stories that will leave you breathless.

21

Best Cultivation Manhwa

Immerse yourself in the captivating world of cultivation, where ordinary individuals rise to extraordinary heights through training, determination, and the mastery of mystical arts. This collection brings together the best cultivation manhwa that have defined the genre. We made sure to offer a diverse array of stories that will keep you enthralled.

14

bottom of page