top of page

Books Similar to A Little Life

9

The Body Politic By Brian Platzer

1

0

Synopsis of The Body Politic By Brian Platzer


In the aftermath of 9/11, New York City is still finding its footing. It's during this time that four young adults - Tess, Tazio, David, and Angelica - cross paths in a bar. They're all looking for something: connection, recognition, purpose.


Fast forward almost fifteen years, and it's 2016. The city's going through another upheaval after the election, and these four friends are still connected, but their lives have taken completely different turns.


Tess and Tazio were art school hotshots, but now Tess is a mom of two, juggling her Broadway dreams with caring for her husband, David, who's dealing with the aftermath of a weird accident. Tazio's left the art world for a career in politics, but he's reeling from a crushing defeat and feeling lost. Even his fianceé, Angelica, can't seem to reach him.


As the country grows more divided, old secrets bubble to the surface, forcing the friends to confront their shared past, including a betrayal that's shaped their entire relationship.


A Brief Review of The Body Politic By Brian Platzer


This book is not a light read. It deals with some heavy topics and the characters can be frustrating at times. They're not perfect, which is kind of the point. The way the story jumps back and forth in time took a bit to get used to, but it was really helpful for understanding the complexities of each character. Their past traumas and experiences have shaped who they are today, and the book does a great job of showing how those experiences influence their choices and relationships.


The author, Nomi Eve, has a subtle and layered writing style. She's good at making you question what you think you know about the characters. There were parts that were frustrating to read as aforementioned. Nonetheless, those same parts also made me reflect a lot.


Overall, "The Body Politic" was a challenging book for me, but it pushed me as a reader. I'm glad I read it.

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Best Reincarnation Manhwa

Unlock a world of second chances, hidden powers, and epic destinies. This curated collection features the best reincarnation manhwa, where heroes rise from the ashes, love transcends lifetimes, and every choice shapes a new reality. Immerse yourself in thrilling adventures, heartwarming romances, and mind-bending mysteries as ordinary individuals become extraordinary legends.

15

Another World Princess Life- Zero Magic Edition

Framed, exiled, murdered. But fate wasn't done with her yet. Reborn as Princess Amelia, her life is once again under threat. Powerless in a world of magic, she'll need every ounce of her cunning and resilience to survive. And this time, she won't just escape her enemies—she'll make them pay.

4

bottom of page