top of page

Books Similar to American Psycho

2

You by Caroline Kepnes

1

0

Synopsis of You by Caroline Kepnes


Joe Goldberg is a seemingly normal guy working at a bookstore. He then spotted this gorgeous aspiring writer. The first thing he did was to stalk her online. I'm not referring to a harmless little creep session, either. This dude goes hardcore detective mode, digging through her Facebook, Twitter, etc.


Turns out Beck (the girl), is an open book. She's constantly posting about her life, giving Joe all the info he needs to track her down. Sure, Joe definitely took advantage of that.


Before you know it, Joe's inserting himself into Beck's life. He's showing up where she hangs out, creating "chance" encounters, and making sure she falls for him. 


Since everything in this collection is so messed up, so is Joe. Joe's willing to do whatever it takes to have Beck all to himself, even if that means getting rid of anyone who stands in his way. I'm talking murder.


"You" is a total mind trip. It's a terrifying look at how easy it is for someone to manipulate and control you, especially in this digital age where we share everything online. It's enough to make you rethink your social media habits, for sure.


A Brief Review of You by Caroline Kepnes


I totally watched the "You" series before reading the book. So, yeah, judge away. 


The book is absolutely addicting. It took me a week to finish, but only because, life happens. If I could've, I would've devoured it in one sitting. It's that gripping. It is like a cold you just can't shake.


Guinevere Beck (Beck to her friends) is a social media queen. She's constantly posting on Facebook and Twitter, basically telling the whole world (and our stalker protagonist, Joe-WTF a stalker became a protagonist that's how messed up this book is) everything about her life. She's basically leaving a trail of breadcrumbs for Joe to follow.


Joe (being the creep that he is) becomes obsessed with Beck. He starts controlling her life-manipulating everything. He's smooth, charming, and even manages to eliminate any potential competition.


This book isn't for the faint of heart. It's violent, sexual, manipulative, and just plain disturbing. But since you are looking for books similar to American Psycho then you can stomach pretty much anything. The fact that Joe narrates in the second POV just makes it even creepier.


What blows my mind is how normal Joe seems on the surface. If we saw things from Beck's perspective, we'd probably fall for him too. He's handsome, works at a bookstore (hot!), and seems genuinely nice. But underneath it all, he's a psychotic killer. Honestly, it's terrifying. You want to hate Joe, but sometimes you can't help but feel a little sorry for him. But that's how good the author is at creating this complex, disturbing character.


Beck, on the other hand, really got on my nerves. She's selfish, egotistical, and treats people like crap. I honestly don't get what Joe saw in her.


The last 100 pages of the book were absolutely insane. My heart was pounding out of my chest. He actually believes that Beck is in the wrong for snooping through his stuff! He thinks he's showing her love by stalking her and killing people. His thoughts in those final pages were seriously chilling. The author nailed the horror aspect.


Overall, I loved this book. It's obsessive, steamy, funny, disturbing, and just freaking amazing. 


Read You by Caroline Kepnes

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Best Romance Manhwa

Get an insight on the best romance Manhwa with this curated collection. This guide features beloved titles that offers readers a perfect blend of stunning artwork and heart-fluttering narratives. Whether you're a seasoned manhwa enthusiast or new to the genre, this collection is your gateway to love stories that will leave you breathless.

21

Best Cultivation Manhwa

Immerse yourself in the captivating world of cultivation, where ordinary individuals rise to extraordinary heights through training, determination, and the mastery of mystical arts. This collection brings together the best cultivation manhwa that have defined the genre. We made sure to offer a diverse array of stories that will keep you enthralled.

14

bottom of page