top of page

Books Similar to American Psycho

4

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

1

0

Synopsis of Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess


Anthony Burgess paints this crazy picture of the future where teenagers basically run the show at night. This kid, Alex, is the leader of one of these gangs, and he tells his story in this super unique slang that'll make your head spin. He's speaking a whole new language, and it perfectly captures the rebellious energy and violence of these young punks.


"A Clockwork Orange" isn't just some wild story, though. It's the battle between good and evil (yeah cliche), and what it means to be truly free. It's a bit of a mind-screw, but in the best way possible. 


This book version is the real deal. It's got the original ending that was cut from the first edition, which is pretty controversial.


Brief Review About Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess


Alright, so I'm probably like a lot of you. I saw Kubrick's movie version of A Clockwork Orange way back when, but never actually read the book until now. 


This book is something else. It's like a punk rock version of Finnegans Wake mixed with a scathing critique of British society in the '50s. Burgess's dystopian world is a total nightmare of violence, and our main character, Alex, is straight-up terrifying. He's pure evil, like the Joker or Anton Chigurh, but the government's attempt to brainwash him is just as disturbing.


The language Alex uses is this crazy slang that takes a minute to get used to, but it doesn't take away from the raw emotion the book evokes. It's seriously intense, and you'll probably find yourself questioning everything.


For those of us who are terrified of Trump and his whole proto-fascist agenda, this book hits a little too close to home. It's like a darker, twisted cousin of "The Handmaid's Tale." It paints a picture of a future that we desperately hope doesn't come true.



Read Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Best Romance Manhwa

Get an insight on the best romance Manhwa with this curated collection. This guide features beloved titles that offers readers a perfect blend of stunning artwork and heart-fluttering narratives. Whether you're a seasoned manhwa enthusiast or new to the genre, this collection is your gateway to love stories that will leave you breathless.

21

Best Cultivation Manhwa

Immerse yourself in the captivating world of cultivation, where ordinary individuals rise to extraordinary heights through training, determination, and the mastery of mystical arts. This collection brings together the best cultivation manhwa that have defined the genre. We made sure to offer a diverse array of stories that will keep you enthralled.

14

bottom of page