top of page

Books Similar to Animal Farm

5

We by Zamyatin

1

0

Synopsis of We by Yevgeny Zamyatin


We has inspired so many writers, like George Orwell and Ayn Rand. It's set in the future, in this city where everything is made of glass and perfectly straight lines. It's ruled by this all-powerful dude called the "Benefactor," and everyone basically lives like robots, with no emotions or creativity. 


But then there's D-503, this math guy who starts having dreams and discovers he actually has a soul.  


This book is like the OG dystopian novel, and it totally paved the way for books like "1984" and "Brave New World." It was banned in Russia for years, but it's still this super powerful story about the importance of individual freedom. 


It's not just a preachy book. It's also a really exciting and vivid science fiction story.  


A Brief Review of We by Yevgeny Zamyatin


Yevgeny Zamyatin's novel has a unique writing style that's a bit stiff but surprisingly engaging. It uses a ton of ellipses and has these striking lines that really make you stop and think, like "Neither mathematics nor death ever makes a mistake" or "True literature can exist only when it is created... by madmen, hermits, heretics, dreamers, rebels and skeptics." Pretty intense, right? 


Like a lot of books about the future, the main character seems weirdly obsessed with the past, which happens to be the time when the author lived. The whole plot is about this guy breaking free from the collective "We" and becoming an individual, which is a big no-no in this world where people are just numbers, not names. 


Zamyatin was way ahead of his time with this whole "doublespeak" thing that Orwell later used in "1984." In this book, "freedom" is a dirty word. It's practically synonymous with crime. There's even this famous book in their society called "He Who was Late to Work," which shows just how boring and controlled their lives are. 


The writing style is definitely unique. Zamyatin describes eyes as windows and eyelids as blinds, the wind as flapping its dark wings. It's not flowery at all, but there's this strange beauty to it. A lot is hinted at, but nothing is spelled out for you. If you've read Ken Kesey, it's kind of like that. 


Since it's written in a journal format with short entries, "We" is a pretty quick read, but it's also super deep. 


Read We by Yevgeny Zamyatin Online Free

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Another World Princess Life- Zero Magic Edition

Framed, exiled, murdered. But fate wasn't done with her yet. Reborn as Princess Amelia, her life is once again under threat. Powerless in a world of magic, she'll need every ounce of her cunning and resilience to survive. And this time, she won't just escape her enemies—she'll make them pay.

4

Happy Face

Under the iron fist of a dictator, disappearances were commonplace. But the gruesome truth behind a string of murders was far more sinister than anyone imagined. Then, the killings ceased. For years, an uneasy peace settled over the land. But the past refuses to stay buried. A new wave of terror begins, twisting minds and shattering souls. Your deepest fears are his playground. He's here to end your depression in the worst possible ways.

27

bottom of page