top of page

Books Similar to Anne of Green Gables

1

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

11

0

Synopsis of The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett


Mary Lennox is this little girl, a real spoiled brat who's not exactly the picture of health. She gets sent off to live with her uncle in this big, creepy mansion in England after her parents die. It's a pretty lonely place, but Mary starts to make some unusual friends- a no-nonsense housekeeper, her energetic brother, a chirpy robin, and her cousin Colin, who's even more of a handful than she is.


One day, Mary stumbles upon a secret garden that's been locked up and forgotten for years. It's overgrown and neglected, but Mary sees its potential. She decides to bring it back to life, but she has to keep it a secret from everyone.


As Mary spends more and more time in the garden, something amazing starts to happen. Not only does the garden bloom, but so does Mary's spirit. And even her sickly cousin Colin starts to get better. 


Brief Review of The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett


I remember reading "The Secret Garden" when I was a kid. I had never come across a character as bratty and unlikeable as Mary Lennox before, and it was a total shock. But I was hooked. I couldn't wait to see what she would do next, and I was just as enchanted as she was when she found that secret garden.


Looking back, I think this book was my first taste of stories with those dark, brooding main characters. It might even be why I love all those gothic stories with strong female leads. So, yeah, you could say I owe this book a lot.


I reread it recently, and even though it's been years since I last picked it up, it still captivated me just as much as it did when I was a kid. I guess some books just have a special kind of magic, something that stays with you no matter how old you get.

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Best Romance Manhwa

Get an insight on the best romance Manhwa with this curated collection. This guide features beloved titles that offers readers a perfect blend of stunning artwork and heart-fluttering narratives. Whether you're a seasoned manhwa enthusiast or new to the genre, this collection is your gateway to love stories that will leave you breathless.

21

Best Cultivation Manhwa

Immerse yourself in the captivating world of cultivation, where ordinary individuals rise to extraordinary heights through training, determination, and the mastery of mystical arts. This collection brings together the best cultivation manhwa that have defined the genre. We made sure to offer a diverse array of stories that will keep you enthralled.

14

bottom of page