top of page

Books Similar to Atomic Habits

4

Make Your Bed by Admiral William H. McRaven

1

0

Description of Make Your Bed by Admiral William H. McRaven


Feeling a little lost or unmotivated? Overwhelmed by life's chaos, especially with work-from-home and all that jazz? Well, what if I told you that simply making your bed could be the first step to turning things around?


In "Make Your Bed," Admiral William H. McRaven shares ten life lessons he picked up during his Navy SEAL training. These lessons helped him face challenges, not just in his military career, but in life overall.


This book is your guide to creating structure and staying grounded, even when things get crazy. McRaven shows you how to develop daily habits that'll keep your mind sharp and ready to tackle whatever comes your way. You'll learn how to find support in the people around you, how to bounce back from setbacks, and how to push yourself outside your comfort zone.


It's not some preachy self-help book, either. It's down-to-earth, super relatable, and packed with simple yet powerful advice.


A Brief Review of Make Your Bed by Admiral William H. McRaven


Make Your Bed by Admiral William H. McRaven is one of those short self-help books you can squeeze onto a tiny shelf, right next to all those other inspirational reads. It's a collection of common-sense advice, the kind of stuff your parents probably drilled into your head. Things like "start your day by completing a task" or "failure can make you stronger."


These lessons aren't exactly groundbreaking, but sometimes we need a reminder of the basics. It's easy to forget what really matters when life gets chaotic.


While the book talks about the importance of a big heart, we all know that in the real world, things like your skin color or sexual orientation can still make a huge difference. And telling people to "stand up to bullies" feels a bit tone-deaf when we've got some serious bullying happening at the highest levels of government.


So, yeah, there's a disconnect between the book's idealistic message and the harsh realities of life. But I still found it somewhat helpful. 


McRaven's a good writer, and the book's a decent guidepost, pointing us towards the values we should all strive for. Plus, I finally learned what Navy SEALs mean by "sugar cookie." Let's just say it's not as sweet as it sounds!

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Another World Princess Life- Zero Magic Edition

Framed, exiled, murdered. But fate wasn't done with her yet. Reborn as Princess Amelia, her life is once again under threat. Powerless in a world of magic, she'll need every ounce of her cunning and resilience to survive. And this time, she won't just escape her enemies—she'll make them pay.

4

Happy Face

Under the iron fist of a dictator, disappearances were commonplace. But the gruesome truth behind a string of murders was far more sinister than anyone imagined. Then, the killings ceased. For years, an uneasy peace settled over the land. But the past refuses to stay buried. A new wave of terror begins, twisting minds and shattering souls. Your deepest fears are his playground. He's here to end your depression in the worst possible ways.

27

bottom of page