top of page

Books Similar to Atomic Habits

6

The Happiness Hypothesis by Jonathan Haidt

1

0

Book Description of The Happiness Hypothesis by Jonathan Haidt


Most of us are familiar with these sayings "Treat others how you want to be treated" or "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger"? They're not just catchy phrases; they hold some serious wisdom. In "The Happiness Hypothesis," psychologist Jonathan Haidt tackles these age-old wisdom and puts them to the test using modern psychology.


Haidt shows us how these old-school sayings can actually teach us a lot about living a good life. He breaks down the science behind things like happiness, virtue, and meaning, making it super easy to digest. 


A Brief Review of The Happiness Hypothesis by Jonathan Haidt


I really liked the short conclusion at the end of this book, and I kind of wish the whole thing had been like that. One of Haidt's best pieces of advice is that "people need love, work, and a connection to something larger" to thrive, just like plants need sun, water, and good soil. He says we need to get the conditions right, and then just be patient. There are a lot of other great insights in the book, but they get kinda buried in a bunch of dry, less interesting stuff. I would've preferred something more thought-provoking, maybe something that quotes ancient wisdom without too much extra commentary.


There's another part that really resonated with me, and it's similar to an idea in another book I read called "Finding Clarity." Basically, humans are like icebergs. The part we're aware of and in control of is just the tip, while the massive part underwater is our subconscious, driving our actions and shaping our personalities. We might think we're in charge, but it's really that hidden part that's calling the shots. The best we can do is try to understand it, accept it, and work with it.

Previous Chapter
Vote button
Next Chapter

An error occurred. Please log in again.

Comments
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
New Stories You May Like

Best Romance Manhwa

Get an insight on the best romance Manhwa with this curated collection. This guide features beloved titles that offers readers a perfect blend of stunning artwork and heart-fluttering narratives. Whether you're a seasoned manhwa enthusiast or new to the genre, this collection is your gateway to love stories that will leave you breathless.

21

Best Cultivation Manhwa

Immerse yourself in the captivating world of cultivation, where ordinary individuals rise to extraordinary heights through training, determination, and the mastery of mystical arts. This collection brings together the best cultivation manhwa that have defined the genre. We made sure to offer a diverse array of stories that will keep you enthralled.

14

bottom of page